The End

Before even watching The Wire, there were a lot of people that had no idea what it even was. This would include myself. I had no idea what this show was about, where it taken placed and even what genre it was. There was rumor that is was one of the best shows during the early 2000’s. Once I sat down and starting watching the show we learned a lot throughout. The who’s, the what’s, the where’s, the why’s. We got a pretty good gist of what was going on for the most part.

Some may say it was a brilliant show, but in my hands it was above-average. The reason I don’t rank it as brilliant is because I’ve never really been able to sit down and watch a “cop” show before. Throughout my life, I’ve tried watching Cops, and we all know that that show is just a down right joke. I believe this show is an above-average TV series because it isn’t like your average cop show. It isn’t just your typical half-an-hour screening of these cops stopping at different parts of the country and making arrests on camera. The Wire is set in Baltimore and stays in Baltimore. This show digs down into the nitty-gritty parts of Baltimore. One reason this show goes into this is because when David Simon worked at the Baltimore Sun, he focused on the nitty-gritty business on the street. He was part of the crime beat there. This is what helped him with the foundation of The Wire. Another reason why I think this show is an above-average show is because you need to truly pay attention to every little detail otherwise you could miss something very important. In Cops, you don’t really need to pay close attention because it’s most likely the same thing over and over again. In The Wire, characters crawl right out of the cracks from the beginning, and there’s so much information in each episode that sometimes you need to watch it three or four times to even understand what is going on.

In my eyes, I feel The Wire turned heads while it was being aired. The viewers for the most part loved every second of it and couldn’t stop watching it. Even though it turned heads, I don’t think it influenced other TV. Since the end of this show, you haven’t really seen a show that has focused on the nitty-gritty business of a single city. Since this did turn my head a little way I am going to recommend that my friends give it a try. It was hard to start out with, but you have to give it time. It took me probably the whole first season to start getting into the action. Since it has gotten me so attached since the second season, I think I am going to try and watch the rest of the seasons. I have watched and consumed so much information that I think I should just keep going to see what else there is left. I am also interested in watching Season five because for my presentation we discussed the Journalism in The Wire so I’d love to see how that plays a role in this series.

Overall, this show isn’t overrated. This show focuses on a different angle of Baltimore and it is very interesting. David Simon put this together well considering that was job covering the crime beat in Baltimore years before he made this TV series.

the-wire

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End

  1. jpchown says:

    It’s interesting that you use “Cops” as the comparison point. Cops is total reality television, unscripted, cinema verite in style. The Wire on the other hand is elaborately scripted, dense, and at times very poetic. But maybe the reason that the comparison is interesting is that both shows have their foot in the pond of reality–often times The Wire has a kind of documentary feel because they were using unprepared sets in the actual neighborhoods depicted. But the biggest difference is that in The Wire you are supposed to feel something about the humanity of the criminals. In “Cops” they are just criminals, nothing else. Anyway, hope you keep going with the series. Season Four is fantastic. The journalism stuff in Season Five is interesting, but still a bit of a letdown after Four.

    Like

Leave a Reply

